Back Into the Rift

I played Rift very briefly when it came out.  I think I didn’t get too far but had some real graphical problems with my old computer and it looked awful so I stopped playing.  After listening to (for the first time) the Too Long, Didn’t Listen Podcast   http://mmoreporter.com/2013/06/29/too-long-didnt-listen-episode-65/    wherein they talked about Rift’s re-emergence as a free to play game, I thought I’d tried it again.  (Plus my husband indicated I may have become a one trick pony only playing WOW, not his term).

I don’t understand the Souls thing at all. It seemed to be offering me in a tool tip to pick some Soul thing but then RED LETTERS appeared saying didn’t go with what I had already chosen.  Make up your minds beaners.

The setting is nice and not quite steam punkish, more Arkham Horror.  Lots of little plaques to read and books to collect.  My Pyromancer (I think) seemed to handle everything and her Rock Guy Elemental was most useful.

The general chat made Wow’s Moonguard jabberjaws look like babes in the woods.  Sheesh people.

I’ll see if I get farther along and we shall see.

Rift Elf

What do you think?