Guild Wars 2 Onward

I spent a little more time last night trying out Guild Wars 2.  You will be pleased to know my character was given the foofy multi-colored dress of her dreams by a nearby npc.  No more embarrassing leaf cover.  Note also I have a flame coming out of a spot in my forehead.  How handy is that?

gw new outfit

I explored the area a bit and came across an npc who helpfully brought up a map of the area which showed in a small video clip that let me know how to find other npcs with tasks for me.  Too funny I passed that npc a bit later and some other guy was clearly watching the little clip because right by the guys head was a little icon of a film reel.  Don’t disturb!

area map in tutorial

While I was meandering up popped a notice of a NEW EVENT NEARBY!  These appear to be like the public quests in Warhammer Online.  The first event I tried out was one where you killed monstrous fireflies and brought their essence over to an npc.  As you gave them to her, you could see a progress bar for the event and also see how much you had contributed to the event.  Well, sometimes competitive doggie that I am,  I ran and killed the fireflies as quickly as I could and trotted right back over to the npc with them, thus raising my contributions to the event and earning a GOLD Contributor status for the event.  Pity the poor fools who were saving up their essences to turn in all at once.  I bet they either got shut out or were PUNY contributors!  Hehe.

gw gold contributor

I like these public quest events.  It is nice to work somewhat cooperatively (but not as cooperatively as in a dungeon setting) with other people.  You get help, a little competition, and you can all hit on the same mob and everyone gets credit.  It makes the world a little more lively.

I also got a message that I had an Achievement.  Open your Hero Panel!  I like that name better than character sheet.  Makes me poof out my character chest a bit.   Thanks to World of Warcraft I have become something of an achievements fiend.  The rewards for getting the achievement will have to be worthwhile to me.  I want either some cool title or a pet, a mount, something!  We shall see.  I need to look more closely at this panel but I like that it is there.  One thing these achievement sets can do for you is help you make sure you have explored, quested, and done everything you can do in an area before moving on.

gw hero panel cropped

Happy Adventuring!

What do you think?